A keen taste for business

We are all far more passionate for enterprises than for the stock market. Long-term investment creates collective wealth, both for companies themselves and for their shareholders. To us, long-term investment also offers an opportunity to multiply contacts with companies and their market environment, and better understand the way they work. Which is why we have a preference for a management team’s vision over short-term optimisation, and why we have keenly followed Xavier Niel (Iliad), Pierre Pasquier and Vincent Paris (Sopra Steria), Jacques Gounon (Eurotunnel), Simon Azoulay (Alten), Maurice Ricci (Akka Technologies), Petra Von Strombeck (Lotto24) and many others for a number of years, some even since our inception in 2008.

Transparency as a method

We are a financial services company, not a bunch of magicians who can make your savings grow behind closed doors. Investors must have the ability to measure their risk: our clients have a right to know. Know who we are investing in (our monthly Newsletter), why we are investing (our Focus on Companies), know about our mistakes and the lessons learned (our annual Performance Report). This is the way we work as a team: disclosing our research, our successes and our failures creates a duty of prudence, discipline and modesty. Asset management is an exciting pursuit, because it is an ongoing learning process, but can only be done properly by using the right tools. Transparency is our tool.

Work and collegiality

Investing – even on the stock market – is not an art of divination; it requires careful implementation of work methods by a team. And the greater the team, the greater its degree of knowledge and originality of its thought. We are now a team of six investment professionals, with experience ranging from one to more than twenty years. The mix is essential, because inexperience completes experience: everyone is involved in the decision-making process, because the ingenuous can often prevent mistakes made by the expert. The team’s development, both human and digital, is crucial to our company’s growth strategy, which is why we invest in new resources as soon as conditions permit.

Alignment of interests

We are long-term investors in the share capital of companies, and are therefore looking for investors who are equally patient and do not make decisions based on the market’s twitching. Our compensation must be consistent with our partnership-based approach: TRANSPARENT and ALIGNED WITH THE INTERESTS OF OUR INVESTORS. This is why neither of our funds charges transaction fees, and we were the first Paris asset management firm to apply the High-Water Mark principle to our funds.

Et nous mangeons la soupe que nous vendons : L’ÉQUIPE A INVESTI DANS LES FONDS et nos petites économies représentent plus de 2% des encours que nous gérons ! En outre, à partir de 2018, notre Plan Epargne Entreprise sera principalement investi dans les fonds maisons, et les RÉMUNÉRATIONS VARIABLES SERONT PARTIELLEMENT VERSÉES EN PARTS DES FONDS.

bfb0541786b1dd32c3c5cc31d70bbd17____________

Le goût de l’entreprise

Nous sommes tous des passionnés d’entreprise plus que de la bourse. L’investissement à long terme permet de créer de la richesse collective, aussi bien au niveau des entreprises que pour ses actionnaires. Pour nous, l’investissement à long terme est aussi l’occasion de multiplier les contacts avec l’entreprise, et donc de mieux la comprendre. Nous privilégions donc la vision d’une équipe dirigeante sur l’optimisation à court terme. Et c’est comme ça que nous suivons Xavier Niel (Iliad), Pierre Pasquier et Vincent Paris (Sopra Steria), Jacques Gounon (Eurotunnel), Simon Azoulay (Alten), Maurice Ricci (Akka Technologies), Petra Von Strombeck (Lotto24) et bien d’autres depuis des années et parfois même depuis notre naissance en 2008.

La transparence comme méthode

Nous sommes une entreprise de service, pas des magiciens qui ferons pouvoir mesurer son risque, et nos clients doivent donc savoir. Savoir dans quoi nous investissons (voir Lettre mensuelle), savoir pourquoi nous y avons investi (voir Focus Entreprises), connaître nos erreurs, et les leçons que nous en avons tirées (voir Rapport annuel de performance). C’est pour nous, en tant qu’équipe, une méthode de travail, car publiciser nos recherches, nos succès autant que nos échecs nous oblige à la prudence, la discipline et la modestie. La gestion est un métier passionnant car l’apprentissage est sans fin ; mais il n’est possible que si l’on a les bons outils.
La transparence est notre outil.

Travail et collégialité

L’investissement – même en bourse – n’est pas un art divinatoire ; il résulte de l’application d’une méthode par le travail, par une équipe qui, plus elle est étoffée, plus elle démultiplie son degré de connaissance et l’originalité de sa pensée. Nous sommes aujourd’hui une équipe de six professionnels de l’investissement avec de un an à plus de vingt ans d’expérience. Et cet assemblage est fondamental car l’inexpérience complète l’expérience : chacun doit participer au processus de décision car le candide peut éviter bien des erreurs au sachant. Le développement de l’équipe, aussi bien humain que numérique, est au cœur de la stratégie de développement de notre société. Nous investissons donc dans de nouvelles ressources dès que les conditions le permettent.

Alignement des intérêts

Nous sommes investisseurs de long terme au capital des entreprises, et nous recherchons donc des investisseurs avec la même patience, qui n’auront pas les tressautements du marché pour boussole. Notre rémunération doit donc être conforme à ce partenariat : TRANSPARENTE et ALIGNÉE SUR LES INTÉRÊTS DE NOS INVESTISSEURS. C’est pourquoi aucun de nos fonds ne facture de commission de mouvement, et nous avons été la première société de gestion de la Place à introduire le High Watermark dans les fonds.

Et nous mangeons la soupe que nous vendons : L’ÉQUIPE A INVESTI DANS LES FONDS et nos petites économies représentent plus de 2% des encours que nous gérons ! En outre, à partir de 2018, notre Plan Epargne Entreprise sera principalement investi dans les fonds maisons, et les RÉMUNÉRATIONS VARIABLES SERONT PARTIELLEMENT VERSÉES EN PARTS DES FONDS.

33be1c525732e8c2b0713475fbb7617bHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH